Categories
book review

record of a spaceborn few by becky chambers

The final book in the science-fiction trilogy – I read the other two a (long) while ago, and as you know it all goes in my head then out again, so I hardly remember what the first two were actually about. I recall liking them? A lot? Maybe the first more than the second? And I have to say, I feel this is the weakest of the three, tho not terrible at all.

There’s no solid story, as such; it is – as the name suggests – a record of a few of the citizens who are born, and live, and die, in space – on one of the many ships that make up the Exodan Fleet (their ancestors were the ones who fled a dying Earth). We follow the varied lives of these different people (all Human, though other species figure) as they question the point of existing in space.

These books, for me, are easy access science-fiction – no complicated jargon or description, or reliance on some secret knowledge of reams of fantastical worlds – just stuff that makes sense to a world we live in now; a logical progression of technology and society. It bandies about ideas to do with how we live as communities, how we treat our dead, how we exist for each other rather than just ourselves. All terribly holistic of course.

The character arcs are not hugely dramatic and therefore fairly disappointing. I admit I kept waiting for something to happen – there was a tension that went sadly unfulfilled. The only unexpected moment of action kind of came and went. I found myself speed reading towards the end – the promise of picking something else to read was too tempting to take my time.

In short…

Not as strong as the first or the second, unfortunately – but still, an exciting writer to keep an eye out for, especially if you want your dip your toes in sci-fi every now and again. An all right 6/10

Leave a comment